Media Advisory by the Electoral Commission of South Africa on the Opening Ceremony of 5th General Assembly of Association of World Election Bodies

Tomorrow, 19 October 2022, sees the opening of the Association of the World Election Bodies (A-WEB) 5th General Assembly, where the Election Commission of India will hand over the A-WEB Chairpersonship to the Electoral Commission of South Africa.

The proceedings will unfold as follows:

07:45–08:30 – Arrival of guests and registration at Hall 9, Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC)
08:30–09:00 – Guests seated and housekeeping
09:00–09:10 – National anthem
09:10–09:20 – Welcome by Ms Janet Love, Vice-Chairperson of Electoral Commission of South Africa
09:20–09:40 – Declaration of the 5th GA opening and remarks by Election Commission of India, Hon. Rajiv Kumar
09:40–09:43 – Flag handover ceremony by Election Commission India
09:43-09:46 – Acceptance by Mr Mosotho Moepya, Chairperson of Electoral Commission of South Africa
09:46-10:40 – Address by representative of Government of South Africa, led by Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, Minister of Home Affairs
10:40–10:50 – Session ends
11:00–11:30 – Media interaction in Freesia Room, CTICC, with new Chairperson of A-WEB, Mr Mosotho Moepya (also Chairperson of Electoral Commission of South Africa), A-WEB Secretariat and the Government of South Africa

Please RSVP to by 16h00 today, 18 October
Ensuring free, fair and credible elections

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela of the IEC on 082 600 6386
For media interviews: Please email

Twitter: @IECSouthAfrica